What Lingers in the Mind?

What questions please children so new to this world?
Do you know where the bird flies?
Do you know why the sun dies?
Do you know what the clock times?
Do you know?
Do you know?
What questions catch youth betwixt and between?
           Is life really fair to both high and to low?
Where’s the grey in the palette of stark black and white?
Can I find my own way, my own road, my own home?
 My own space?
 My own time?
What questions haunt adults in the soul of their days?
           Where is the meaning in my day-to-day grind?
Why will you hold me and set me aside?
How do I play catch and release when trapped between:
hopeful youth?
beloved aging?  
Stay tuned, dear reader, for the next installment that answers the question of just what lingers
in the wise mind of an elder.
